San Jose All District Leadership Group

Council Districts
D1 - D2 - D3 - D4 - D5 - D6 - D7 - D9
San Jose, California

The Honorable Matt Mahan, Mayor of San José and Members of the City Council via email, sent June 14, 2024

re: Council 6/18/24, Agenda Item 3.5: "Potential November 2024 Ballot Measure Polling"

Dear Mayor and Councilmembers,

The San Jose All District Leadership Group (SJADLG) is a consortium of the leadership of the active San Jose leadership groups. The purpose of the SJADLG is to strengthen two-way communication between neighborhoods and government agencies and representatives and build a stronger sense of community within all Districts in the City of San Jose.

Parks are important to us in the community! Parks are the heart of the community, where we go to get outdoors, play with our kids, meet neighbors, enjoy life.

Our parks need to be maintained. Fees on new developments help fund new parks for new residents, and can also help with some major improvements in existing parks; taxes on the sale or remodeling of existing homes also help some with major repairs – but there is a significant backlog of needed maintenance.

Council commissioned a poll to ask the community for recommendations on how to deal with the backlog. The initial results show that the public don't want to try getting money by giving long-term leases of our parks for commercial purposes, but the people do appear to be willing to consider a parcel tax to keep our parks, playgrounds, trails, and other facilities clean and well-maintained, to protect nature and wildlife, and to help our community's seniors and youth.

We thank you for asking! We look forward to seeing how your further community surveys will shape the ballot language. We also look forward to providing our insights at your August Council meeting.

Protect Our Parks!

District 2 – John Leipelt

Thank you,
Greg Peck,
Chair, San Jose All District Leadership Group

District 1 – Gary Cunningham District 4 – Linda Locke District 7 – Alie Victorine

District 5 – Juan Estrada

District 9 – Bobbi Pena-Atak

District 3 – Joan Rivas-Cosby District 6 – Bill Rankin

Cc: City Clerk, City Manager, and PRNS Director.